Skip to content

In case you happen to be just as obsessed as we are…

September 2, 2008

And in the Northeast, or have plenty of disposable income burning a hole in your pocket, there’s a teeny tiny Olympics exhibit at the Smithsonian Castle in Washington DC right now. There are medals from about a century of the Olympics (Summer and Winter) and some photos and TORCHES.

If you cannot go, here are some pictures.

The medals are all donated and on loan, clearly, which is fascinating to me. I tend to think that if I had an Olympic medal, I wouldn’t let it out of my set. Of course, if I were Shannon Miller and had 2134832, I could part with a few.

As you can see, they already have a torch from Beijing. It’s not THE torch, apparently there are many different torches for each route. Which makes sense, but I had never really thought about it. In my mind, they actually are carrying one torch around the world. Viva la unity!

Ian Thorpedo has one of these!

Ian Thorpedo has some of these!

If you’ve never been to DC in general, it’s a beautiful city with a lot to explore. And every once in awhile, you’ll stumble upon a random and awesome exhibit. Like the Olympics! (Or the Muppets!)

I also had the pleasure to visit Baltimore this weekend, but was thoroughly disappointed by the lack of Michael Phelps posters around town. There was nary a torso in sight!

Not like the commercial..

Not like the commercial..

I know the Phelps Phestival isn’t for another week and a half or so, but come on! Give me a banner or something! Especially outside of the Sports Legends Museum. Boo.

I did, however, see the best shirt ever at a store in the Inner Harbour.
I didn’t buy one… but I did see a teenage boy checking it out that had Michael Phelps on his shirt already. Amazing! Baltimore to me now means delicious crab cakes and delicious Michael Phelps (and Cal Ripken Jr).

I am now watching Zack Morris’ new show. I’ve been a bit too distracted by this post, though. So I can’t check out the crazy colonial times hair Mark Paul Goselaar is now sporting. It looks even more amazing in HD. Too bad he isn’t also wearing a tricorner hat. Get thee to a haberdashery, MPG!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 2, 2008 3:05 am

    WHAT? I’m jeal. Did you plan on seeing that exhibit or did you just kinda stumple upon it? I wish I lived in the Northeast cos all the big cities are kinda close together in many different directions. :C

    Remember the GIANT Athens torch which looked like a huge joint? haaaahaahahaha.

    Zack Morris’s hair TERRIFIES ME.

Leave a Reply

