Skip to content

An open letter to Kenley Collins.

September 26, 2008

Dearest Kenley Collins,

When you first appeared on my TV screen 11 weeks ago on the Season 5 premiere of Project Runway, I was intrigued. You were cute, giggly, and the Bettie bangs actually look good on you, without also looking pretentious.

Your designs were sometimes innovative, but usually very typical, and I could always guess what style of dress you were going to show, because your retro aesthetic seeps through in everything you design. However, I was willing to look past the typicality of your designs and focus on your adorableness, and declare you one of my favorite personalities this season, if not one of my favorite designers (that spot this season is reserved for Jerell, who is AMAZING).

As the weeks passed on, however, a side of you that other designers had been complaining about during their interviews started showing more and more in the design room, and on the runway. Korto, Keith, and Joe seemed to have it out for you, complaining about your loud, unprofessional attitude, and at some point you even started turning on your only friend this season, Daniel. Lame? Totally. You became overly defensive over your increasingly mediocre designs, argumentative, and flat-out rude on the runway, often laughing while your competitors were being judged by the panelists.

The straw that broke the camels back, however, was this past week when being offered advice by Tim Gunn. Your design was absolutely not hip-hop, and when Tim was critiquing your work before the runway, you were RIDICULOUSLY RUDE TO HIM, which is unacceptable.

I am of a camp of ProjRun watchers who WORSHIP Tim Gunn, and as far as we’re all concerned, Kenley, you are now dead to us. If you make it to the final three, not only will I be completely surprised, I will also be ridiculously angry.

Watch out, Kenley. On behalf of the amazing Tim Gunn, you are SO shit-listed.

Dumbass.

Dumbass.

Allow me to introduce all of your official h8rs:

Agent Lover said, (9 hours ago)

Kenley is such a fucking bitch

Jubilee! said, (9 hours ago)

Kenley committed the cardinal sin because she was rude to Tim. NO ONE gets to be rude to tim, that twat.

Gravel Blood Palin said, (9 hours ago)

Kenley is on SEASON FIVE, so I don’t know how she could possibly feel confident. All of their designers (besides jerell) have sucked.

Agent Lover said, (9 hours ago)

I remember on the first episode I automatically liked her because she was a member of the International Society of Black Hair Bangs and Red Lipstick but she really is an OBNOXIOUS BITCH. Laughing at people while the judges were talking to them! I would fucking slash her shit up with a box cutter for being rude to the Gunn.

Jubilee! said, (9 hours ago)

@AL: I know! I love her round-y bangs and for the most part, all of the stuff she makes but JESUS. And it looks like next week she’s going to talk back to Heidi–again, and I hope Nina chucks her Sharpie at her. CUT IT OUT, KENLEY. You know not the fan base Tim Gunn has who will come assault you for acting like a snobby bitch.

Gravel Blood Palin said, (9 hours ago)

I hate how she laughs during EVERY PANEL. OMG. EVERY SINGLE ONE. I want Nina to rip her little head off.

andrewjthomas said, (9 hours ago)

Yes, Kenley is THE BITCH of this season. And frankly, her designs are sub-par too. It’s one thing to be a bitch with talent, but she’s just a bitch.

Carlo said, (2 minutes ago)

Ok, that’s it. Someone hold my purse. I’ma scratch this bitch.

Oh snap. Watch out, bitch.

Love,

Celisse M. Wordpower.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. spottylover permalink
    October 5, 2008 2:24 am

    I agree!!! BAAAAAAD Kenley!

  2. October 10, 2008 5:01 pm

    hahahahaha. too bad jerrell’s line SUCKED

  3. October 10, 2008 5:51 pm

    I didn’t get to see Jerell’s line this week cos I missed the first half of the episode. UGH. I will say, though, that throughout the season I have loved most of his designs. LOVED. But they ALWAYS look unfinished or wrinkly or something, and that drives me absolutely bonkers.

    Poor Jerell. :C

  4. alphabetfiend permalink
    November 2, 2008 7:02 am

    Found your blog off my post about Kenley and we saw things the same way pretty much. well put! check mine out, I’m the first one under your “related posts.” We coulda had a great bitch session over cyber cocktails!

  5. Elias Alvarez permalink
    February 22, 2010 11:44 pm

    fuck you guys first of all. Kenley is a kind and sweet person and you only got to know the side of her that the producers wanted. I know this girl personally and you guys should not judge what you see unless you know all the facts. and btw kenley has more talent then those designers there who could not properly construct garments. She knows what she is doing but its not my fault you guys are blind and cant see talent. O well. You guys are late. and nasty. I hate you and your mothers for spawning you.
    XOXO
    The head bitch in charge

    • February 22, 2010 11:51 pm

      We’re “late,” regarding a post you JUST replied on, which was originally posted over a YEAR ago?

      Oh, okay.

Leave a Reply

