Skip to content

The Weekend Update Special liveblog!

October 10, 2008

Okay, this is a test. Because we might not be doing this longer than this single episode. I wanted to see if it would be something worth liveblogging.

And we’re starting off tonight with Chris Parnell, so GOOD. GOOD GOOD GOOD. Chris Parnell is drunky Tom Brokaw. He’s going to sass the pants off of Fred Armisen and Darrell Hammond. Casey Wilson is asking a question. So it’s the whole cast tonight, is it? I don’t know if I was expecting that.

An oldie, but a goodie.

An oldie, but a goodie.

Times up! Obama has no answer. McCain already got his “This one” off. That was quick, SNL. I’m counting the “My friends” in this sketch. He did rename the question asker, though. That was a subtle knock. Nice one.

Hadersville! He’s asking about Russia. Because everyone hates Russia. I lost count of the “my friends,” so we’re going to add one. And there’s another one. And another wrong name by McCain. Wrong name McCain. Heh. That rhymes.

Bobby Moynihan, Andy Samberg, Kenan Thompson. All in the audience. So is the thirty minute special all going to be the debate?

McCain doddering around the stage around Obama is one of the funniest sight gags I’ve seen in awhile.

Bill Murray! AMAZING. And he’s asking about baseball. Now that’s the William Murray I know and love. John McCain knows what’s up. The Cubs ARE hopeless.

Susan Calkins was so afraid. The simultaneous question and answers are good. I don’t know who to pay attention to. But McCain called himself a maverick twice.

That was six “my friends” in a ten minute sketch. Not good enough, guys. But they managed to fit in the majority of the cast, just like Tom Brokaw wrangled everyone to get through on time. Nice.

Weekend Update! Huzzah! In case you were wondering, the Sarah Palin Starbucks thing is totally true. I wish America did run on Dunkin. This is the best that I’ve seen Kenan in awhile — I hope we see more Oscar Rogers in the weeks to come. Here comes the AIG joke. Make it a good one, Seth. Make.it.a.good.one. Oh sweet, it’s the “Really?” segment. “Really? Did you sell your office furniture on Craigslist? Really?” I want to see an investor sack race. Make it happen. Seth Meyers could not look more concerned right now. “Oh my god!” “Seriously, are you serious?” “Really?” “Huh!” Golden, guys. Golden.

It seems so bizarre to see Weekend Update between commercials. In unrelated news, the Anne Hathaway anal sex story? Not true. And a nation is disappointed.

Nairuti (9:52:46 PM): haha that whale made me want cake
Kim (9:53:34 PM): its like the debates, when john mccain made me want candy

Hall and Oates! OMG! That is an excellent mullet on Will Forte. Back in the day, Will Forte and Fred Armisen singing segments used to be my favorite. Who can forget the “YAAAAAAAAAH” song?

When did 30 Rock become so big on the guest stars? Sometime last season, I know. They really want ratings.

For Weekend Update..

For Weekend Update..

Aw, it’s over already? That was so quick and I want more. More jokes, more! Give me more jokes! Not ER! No! Jokes! No!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2008 3:08 am

    I am so confused right now. Its THURSDAY.

  2. October 10, 2008 2:22 pm

    CAIN and NAME do not actually rhyme.

  3. October 10, 2008 9:58 pm

    AHAHAHA So I watched the episode on Hulu, and during the song, all I kept thinking about was the YAHHHHHHHH song, and my little heart was so happy.

Leave a Reply

