Skip to content

The.. Ok I Kept it in the Same Weekend Paul Rudd/Beyonce Review!

November 16, 2008

My review today is not instantaneous, and I do feel bad about that. I had the pleasure of seeing the Kaiser Chiefs last night, a band which I find to be generally boring who managed to put on a really, really fun show. It was so fun that Jay-Z was there, even though he should’ve been hanging out with Beyonce at SNL.

So back to the topic at hand: I am looking forward to watching the episode. Viewers of Wet Hot American Summer and anyone who follows the State/Stella comedy realm will probably already know exactly how funny he can be. And then there’s Anchorman and the Judd Apatow movies and now, he’s taken his hand at writing with Role Models, which I’m hearing good things about.

He also weirdly looks a lot like Caroline Kennedy, as seen in this video I made at a Barack Obama show the night before the New York primaries:

I’ve had the pleasure of seeing him sing before, and he has a nice voice. So I hope he sings. I hope Sudeikis sings, too. I am a sucker for the Rudd/Sudeikis singing voices. It’s true. Or maybe I’m just a sucker.

And Beyonce? She’s married to Hova himself. She has a pretty demanding dad. Hell, she snuck off and recorded B’Day without his knowledge, which says something. I’m sure the two of the original members of Destiny’s Child would agree with this point. She has a weird alter ego named Sasha Fierce (I think that’s right). She’s from Houston, so I can get behind that. Or maybe not, cause she’s too bootylicious for me.

Cold Open — I love you, Crazypants Joe Biden. And Jason Sudeikis’ impersonation of you. Poor Joe Biden can’t wink. I want to see the Biden Blunder scale. I would actually make a Biden Blunder scale, but I’m already about 12.5 hours behind on this update. Next time, next time. Post-election the cold opens are short. But funny. Because ain’t nothin funnier than a crazypants Joe Biden party.

Credits: Amy Poehler is still in them. That’s adorable. Hi, new people. If you haven’t read about the new people, gawker has some videos and such.

Monologue: Can SNL be funny post-election? This monologue makes fun of the possibilities. Like Janet Napolitano! Though I’m not sure that Paul Rudd should be the mouthpiece for the writers to remind you that they can still be funny. It doesn’t matter, because Paul Rudd is awesome and has great comic timing and I love him.

Sproingo: Poor Sudeikis with his ED. Hearing is believing.

The Vogelcheks: Super kissy family. Paul Rudd has never looked so hot making out with his family. You know Mary Steenbergen? She’s just my favorite actress. Eye kissing. Hot. I hope they’re going to watch Mary Steenbergen movies in their sleeping bags. Wow, Fred Armisen and Andy Samberg just ate each other’s faces. That was fantastic. In a hilarious, fantastic, incestuous way.

McIntosh: Side bar – I like that picture of three Paul Rudds. I don’t understand why this became a recurring sketch. Although I like that this might be a heavy Hader/Sudeikis episode. Journey to the Center of Your Esophagus sounds like a great book. It has to be said at some point: Paul Rudd never ages. “You just transformed from a man into a bitch!” I do not want any variety shows up inside me. You have scared me straight, McIntosh.

Digital Short: This kind of reminds me of that really boring episode of Gossip Girl on Monday. Except with naked Paul Rudd. And naked Paul Rudd reminds me of this picture from, I believe, Rolling Stone a few years back.

Borderline indecent this, jerks.

Borderline indecent this, jerks.

Serena and Aaron Ross did not listen to music this awesome, though. This digital short took a dark and hilarious turn. Thank you, brain of Andy Samberg. You’re nuts.

Songwriters Showcase: Yes! Looks like Paul Rudd is going to sing. And Will Forte has a fierce mullet. Oh dear, Paul Rudd is wearing Mom Jeans, and it’s freaking me the hell out. This song is only funny for it’s blatant awfulness, and it’s going on way too long. Kristen Wiig’s limbo dancing and Will Forte’s quivering lip are making it a little better. I just can’t get over the costumes in this scene.

Road Trip: It’s my three SNL faves in one sketch. And they’re all going to sing. This is a recurring sketch, too, isn’t it? I don’t mind, because they’re all singing, and seriously, can’t say it enough, I love the singing. Aw, a Bristol Palin joke. And a good one. Levi Johnston dumped her on November 5. Heh. I wonder.. if they ever do break-up will he attribute the Bristol tattoo to ESPN? Beer, big league chew and mushrooms. Sounds like the right mixture for a road trip. I love their faces in the freeze frame, even though Bill Hader didn’t make it out of the sketch alive.

Beyonce – “If I Were a Boy”: She has a song called “If I Were a Boy?” Really? Her boobs are TOTALLY taped to hell in that dress. And she sounds like she’s under water. Though, that might just be my tape. I am not understanding this performance at all. She’s so stiff and weird. And now there’s a fan blowing her hair everywhere. Oh, Beyonce. Why are you trying so hard? And making sure you’re looking in the right camera at all times. And the weird arm movements are almost worse than Duffy’s. She stopped performing and got so loose and happy-looking. Maybe she really DOES still have paralyzing stage fright. It’s okay, B, I do, too.

Weekend Update: Seth Meyers seems to still sit on his side of the desk instead of rolling over to the middle. Interesting. It’s still weird to see him doing Update alone, even though it’s been done alone plenty of times. Kevin Nealon is still my fave. Facebook updates on Barack Obama’s page: Barack Obama is balancin’ the budget. Barack Obama is now friends with HIllary Clinton! Barack Obama just met with The CIA. Spooky!

Three versions of one joke. Oh, Seth. Oh no! Four jokes! That’s a Seth Meyers tactic all the way. Snagglepuss! Bobby Moynihan is really breaking out quickly for a featured player. I am moving to Batman, Turkey. Hey, Justin Timberlake! What are you and your awesomely patchy facial hair doing here?! I am wondering what you’re doing here tonight, Justin. I just asked that. His impression of Don Pardo sounds a lot like Robin Leetch. Bring it on to Turkeyville! Awesome! Dick in a turkey is not good. Justin Timberlake is just reminding us of all the awesome sketches he’s done. Because he is weirdly amazing. And I do love, “Sing the song, be intense, look at the camera!” And once more, Seth Meyers dances on the Update set. One day I will dance with Seth Meyers. I’m serious. Oh God, Seth Meyers playing the Timbaland to Justin Timberlake is amazing. A. maz. ing.

Almost as amazing as this insanity that my friend over at If You’re Familiar With a Snorkel sent me:

Hoorah!

Hoorah!

I am not entirely sure why I look like a frighteningly pale singing ghost. But that’s cool.

Beyonce “Single Ladies” video: Aw, they gave Darrell Hammond something to do. Oh, dear. Justin Timberlake and Andy Samberg have weirdly awesome legs. Hey, new girl did something! Paul Rudd is giving Beyonce some great nicknames: BK. B-Town. B-Rilliant. I don’t even know who to look at, they’re all doing something great here. Music videos are back! I wonder if Bobby Moynihan ever thought he would be dancing up on Beyonce. I have and will always love Paul Rudd’s dance moves. That’s all I can say about that. That and I hope they put this on Hulu someday soon so that I can watch it repeatedly like I did with “Mark Wahlberg Talks to the Animals.”

Negotiator: Paul Rudd! Don’t do it! Bill Hader and Will Forte are playing Louis and Jamie. Like the married couple that does standby for SNL every week. Weird. “Cornelius is a stupid name.” But it’s Chevy Chase’s first name. “I AM BAD.” “Why don’t you try to be good?” Is Cornelius going to jump and ruin the special moment? Yes. Too bad he jumped right on their car. Speaking of flying colors…. Heh. I like. Strangely enough.

Just as an aside, SNL sometimes puts up weird internet promos on Hulu. Here are the ones for this week. Fun!

Beyonce – “Single Ladies”: Her band started playing while Paul Rudd was talking. Ok, seriously. What the hell is she wearing? And I would love her about a million times more if Justin Timberlake, Andy Samberg and Bobby Moynihan got up and danced with her for real. Also, she’s not singing at all, so why is she holdng a mic? Oh, she sings when she wants to. That’s allowed, I guess. I want to take a Beyonce dance class. This song is much more fun than the first one. I think the first one was a mistake. Although, this song doesn’t seem to be able strong single ladies. It seems to be about not strong single ladies that are mad that they’re man didn’t lock them down.

Prop 8: Just to go back to Seth Meyers’ line in Weekend Update, the protesting and such, why did it all happen AFTER the vote? Was everyone just super confident that it would pass? I mean, it’s a big issue, and yeah, protesting is important, but it’s not really helping now. SNL really likes glory hole jokes. “If we got gay married, I would crack up.” Williams-Sonom! They’re so adorable in their hilarious gay marriage.

Clearing the Air: Awkward friendship makes up. Aw. Fred Armisen, clear the air, more. Let’s all pretend that we’re fine with everything even though we’re not. Shucks. This has Fred written all over it. I kind of love this, and I’m not sure why.

Credits: I think this might be my new favorite episode of the season. Or, at least in the top three, with the James Franco and Jon Hamm episodes. And it didn’t require anything topical! Sure, there were some duds, but all in all, hilariousssss. Justin Timberlake pushed it over the top all of the way. Will Forte looks precious in the closing credits. And the new girls look so confused. Excited and confused.

Too bad next week we’re going with Tim McGraw, Ludacris & T-Pain. I’m not entirely looking forward to it, but maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised. Hopefully. Live blogging the bad episodes is pretty painful. Until we meet again…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leeanne permalink
    November 17, 2008 2:27 am

    Finally I have been waiting for Kim’s insight on the episode. I was shocked to see we did not agree I thought it was okay but not as good as the other episodes you compared it. I thought that Justin Timberlake was hilarious and I wish he would host this season.

    Sidenote I think I should start a blog because ever since you awesome things seem to be happening to you.

  2. Amanda permalink
    November 17, 2008 3:33 pm

    I didn’t read your whole post because I didn’t want to read about the stuff I haven’t seen yet, but holy crap that picture of Paul Rudd is hot! NSFW. And also, good job on the picture taking skills, Yvonne!

  3. Michael permalink
    July 18, 2009 2:26 pm

    I agree that I would have loved to see Justin Timberlake, Andy Samberg and Bobby Moynihan come on stage during Beyonce’s real performance.

Leave a Reply

