Skip to content

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday.

November 28, 2008

Although I’m not quite sure why. I like the idea of bringing my huge family together for one night and feasting upon a massive dinner I’ve prepared, baking and roasting and melting away all our dysfunctions and differences and dramatics into one giant meal, temporarily forgetting the reasons we all don’t have out through the rest of the year and just enjoying the fact that our blood somehow keeps us together.

That never actually happens, however. I always love the idea, but the reality ends up, every year, as just my mother and I, sitting on either side of our small kitchen table, bottles of Martinelli Sparkling Cider, a roasted chicken that is maybe just slightly too large for us to share without having leftovers for DAYS, and my father somehow making me sob into mashed potatoes, even without showing his wrinkled little face at my house for the holiday.

Either way, Thanksgiving is still my favorite holiday, and small as it was, mine was wonderful, and I hope yours was too.

THIS POST IS FULL OF RUN-ONS, but I’m high on chicken grease so I’m gonna let it pass for tonight.

A wonderful thing happened this morning, friends and lovers. A WONDERFUL THING INDEED. If you watched the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade this morning, and already know of my obsession with this particular internet meme, then you probably already know what I’m talking about. IF NOT, THEN DO ALLOW ME TO PRESENT YOU WITH THIS WONDERFUL GIFT:

OHHHHH MYYYYYYYYY GODDDDDDDDDD NBC RICKROLLED 55 MILLION TELEVISION VIEWERS THIS MORNING AND IT WAS ABSOLUTELY FRIGGEN FANTASTIC. That was THE BEST way to start my holiday, let me tell you.

Afterwards, I began the cooking, while watching no less than four DVDs:

  1. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, which made me lol.
  2. RENT, which made me cry.
  3. Elizabethtown, which made me amazed at the fact that Cameron Crowe can still make a charming, heartwarming movie even with two of the lamest leads in the ENTIRE WORLD (Orlando Bloom and Kirsten Dunst SUP?)
  4. Romeo + Juliet, which made me emo.

I created a BEAUTIFUL and DELICIOUS Chocolate Tiramisu, which I actually really really really screwed up, and it took me an extra hour to disassemble the monstrosity, fix it, and then put it back together as delicately as removing the funny bone from a game of Operation.

I roasted a GORGEOUS chicken, which my mom stuffed with a delicious dressing that only she can master. And the sides. OH, the sides. Mashed Potatoes and Green Bean Casserole and GOODNESS GRACIOUS, BORDERING UPON A FOOD COMA.

My Thanksgivings may be small, but they are warm. I haven’t posted in a while and just wanted to share a bit of my happiness for the upcoming holiday season, and some Rickrollolz, with all of you fair readers who keep Kim and myself entertained for almost three months now.

THIS IS BORDERING UPON INCOHERENCY. Have a great night, suckas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 29, 2008 8:03 am

    i didn’t see the parade, but i heard about it. and that is totes amazing. HOWEVER.

    RICK ASTLEY,

    we all know you’re lip synching, WHY ARE YOU NOT BUSTING A MOVE? everybody knows how awesome of a dancer you are, rick astley. i need more dancing.

    MORE MORE MORE.

    MORE.

Leave a Reply

