Skip to content

Bacon Bits and Pieces

December 2, 2008

Every once in awhile something really random happens. Like, the Bacon Brothers performing outside of your office. Unable to pass up such an opportunity, I stuck around and enjoyed the Winter’s Eve festivities until the Bacon Brothers went on.

I always knew Kevin Bacon was a little strange, but now I have an idea of how strange. I have written down some choice Baconisms for you all.

  • I moved to this neighborhood [Upper West Side] in 1976…. 72nd Street…. the.. 1 Train. All I had was a suitcase and a dream.
  • Growing up I always wanted to be the subject of a Playboy interview, like Telly Savalas. That’s how I would know I made it. Maybe because I spent so much time with Playboy growing up. One day my agent called me and said I was finally going to be a feature. Then he called me back and said that the feature was cancelled. That I was too old for Playboy. I thought that would be a great name for a song. The song has nothing to do with that story.
  • Too old for Playboy, too young to die.
  • Get out your tissues, if they’re not out already.
  • I tried to write a song about God and war, since the two always seem to be tied together. It ended up being about children. It’s called “Children.”
  • The song “Children” contains the lyric, “Please don’t hurt the children.”
  • Unfortunately, there was no, “I kind of like you, but I’d rather act like a Bratz doll and play passive agressive games with you.” It’s called, “I kind of like you, but I’d rather act like a Bratz doll and play passive agressive games with you.” Going straight to the top of the charts.

    I’ve made this recipe twice, so I feel the need to share it with the internet faithful. It’s a recipe from Paula Deen and the Food Network. Both times they have gotten rave reviews and been moist and delicious. Make them at any and all holiday party.

    Unfortunately this is the best picture I took of them.

    Unfortunately this is the best picture I took of them.

    Ingredients
    Bars:
    4 eggs
    1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
    1 cup vegetable oil
    15-ounce can pumpkin
    2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
    1 teaspoon salt
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    Icing:
    8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
    1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
    2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    Directions
    Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

    Using an electric mixer at medium speed, combine the eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin until light and fluffy. Stir together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture and mix at low speed until thoroughly combined and the batter is smooth. Spread the batter into a greased 13 by 10-inch baking pan. Bake for 30 minutes. Let cool completely before frosting. Cut into bars.

    To make the icing: Combine the cream cheese and butter in a medium bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the sugar and mix at low speed until combined. Stir in the vanilla and mix again. Spread on cooled pumpkin bars.

    As far as the icing goes, this recipe makes a lot of icing. I made the recipe twice and still had icing leftover from the original batch. Cut it in half — at least, and you should be fine.

    Today is World’s AID Day. Be safe. You can help.

    4 Comments leave one →
    1. robyn permalink
      December 3, 2008 2:15 am

      how am i the only person to feel so moved by the baconisms that i had to comment?

    2. Amanda permalink
      December 4, 2008 5:43 pm

      I think everyone else is too busy processing the wonderous nature of the Bacon-isms or being made speechless by them.

    3. Amanda permalink
      December 4, 2008 5:43 pm

      I have another good Bacon-ism: “Do ya?”

    4. seek, eh? permalink
      December 5, 2008 6:10 pm

      I was there as they were setting up & (unsurprisingly?) K Bakes was too good to show up to his own band’s soundcheck. (M Bakes was there.)

      In all fairness, the whole thing is probably just a vehicle for M Bakes to be in a “successful” band, since he doesn’t have the stage presence & sheer majesty of verbosity commanded by his broham.

      Their music is bland.

      the end.

    Leave a Reply

