Skip to content

The Best of 2008 in playlist form

December 31, 2008

I know I haven’t blogged in about a million years, but I’ve been working two jobs and traveling and being sick and obsessively watching the West Wing, so I’m sorry. But moving on, I made this “Best of 2008” playlist a bit ago, and no, it’s not definitive or anything, but it’s fun. And it’s also a good way to break down the year as it was anyways.

Kanye West – Love Lockdown: Leave it to Kanye to make a slow, kind of boring song that relies heavily on autotune to be one of my favorite songs of the year. But hell, that was rap music this year. Autotune. And R&B, as apparently Chris Brown, who can sing you know, was named Billboard’s artist of the year and got down with the Autotune on a bunch of his songs this year. CB & TP, oowee.

Little Joy – Brand New Start: Yes, they’re more commonly known as Fabrizio Moretti’s other group, but damnit, they’re catchy and good and fantastic and you should listen to them. While you have your own brand new start in 2009. With Barack Obama as President. We blogged the hell out of election night, and it ended beautifully. I’m aware this is a love song, just go with it, please?

Jenny Lewis – See Fernando: Just let it all go. And have the race of your life. Right, Jason Lezak?

Election aside, this is easily one of my favorite moments of the year. After Alain Bernard smack talked Team USA, he jumped in at prime physical condition ahead of the 32-year-old Jason Lezak. And what did Lezak do? Oh, he only swam the fastest 100 meter freestyle split in history. This year is about nothing if not for being about the little people. For every Michael Phelps, there was a Jason Lezak that got to shine this year. And it was great.

Fleet Foxes – White Winter Hymnal: Fleet Foxes’ songs are literally more about melody and harmony than lyrically content, so I’m just going to take this time to talk about my favorite movies of the year. And really, I’m just going to list them. Since I just ran through a list of films that came out in 2008 in chronological order, that’s how these are listed.

In Bruges
Forgetting Sarah Marshall
Iron Man
The Dark Knight
Man on Wire
Pineapple Express
Synecdoche
Milk
Doubt
The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

I have not seen Wall-E, Frost/Nixon, or Slumdog Millionaire yet, so the list may change in time. Who knows. Who cares.

Adele – Cold Shoulder: Man, what a good time for women this year. Seriously. Female Presidential candidate Hillary Clinton. Female Vice Presidential candidate Sarah Palin. Katie Hoff was kind of fail blog, though, but whatever, because there was also Adele, Duffy, Lykke Li, Santogold, Portishead, Zooey Deschanel, Suri Cruise, Celisse and me…

T.I. – Whatever You Like: Regardless of how you feel about rap music, this was a pretty great year for it. I personally cannot stand Lil Wayne, but hey, everybody else loved Tha Carter III. And T.I. is pretty much the T.I.P. (ha.) for me. Paper Trails is amazing. He managed to have a track with all of the heavyweights that sampled one of the great songs of 2007 (“Paper Planes”). And without this song, we would never have been able to post this in our blog or laugh hysterically at this website or even allow the children from the Ron Clark school to remind us that we can vote however we like.

And besides all of that, this is a fantastic song. The tag at the end? “Hey Jim, Hey Jim.” It’s perfect. It’s perfect. I’m not kidding.

Frightened Rabbit – The Modern Leper: Because we’re all masochists and sometimes we all need a little anthem of indie rock to remind us that. And/or to remind us of all of the fabulous screw-ups of the year. Hello, Bernie Madoff. Hello, BLAGOJEVICH! Hello, collapsing financial institutions and auto industries that we continue to bail out while WaMu screws me over. Wow, maybe I should never listen to this song again. I just got all worked up.

Vampire Weekend – Oxford Comma: I’ve already explained my love for Vampire Weekend. And Lil Jon always tells the truth. Because rap music had a great year. YEAH.

The Dodos – Red and Purple: The Dodos are the only band that I will allow to have a typo in their album name (Visiter). And that’s only because this album is so freaking good. Just as good as that time that Josh Hamilton hit like 9234 homeruns at Yankee Stadium.

The Walkmen – In the New Year: So pretty much the Walkmen are amazing, and this year they put out a record which is getting them a decent amout of deserved acclaim. Hamilton Leithauser has, in my opinion, one of the best voices in rock right now. He sounds Dylanesque, and then he jumps out at you and holds a note that has you holding your breath. They may not put on the most exciting live shows, but they’re always captivating and it is something to see.

Not Eli Manning.

Not Eli Manning.

He also kind of looks like Eli Manning, quarterback of your World Champion New York Giants. And what a game that was, huh?

She & Him – Why Do You Let Me Stay Here?: The year’s biggest WTF moment for me happened this week. Zooey Deschanel (of She & Him) and Ben Gibbard (of Death Cab for Cutie) got engaged. Apparently they’ve been dating for over a year. Where were the hipster papparazzi on this one? Why did the world still think she was dating a dude from AFI and initally report that she was engaged to him? And more importantly, is she the one causing Ben Gibbard to lose weight like a mad man? Because dude weighs like 5 lbs now. It’s truly bizarre. I’m so confused. So out of left field. But good for them. It’s a match made in indie heaven.

I am super skinny and you can see my cheekbones now and I have thick mutton chops and its freaky.

I am super skinny and you can see my cheekbones now and I have thick mutton chops and it's freaky.

Deerhunter – Microcastle: I saw Deerhunter this summer. Sadly enough, this was pretty slim pickings concert wise for me. Kaiser Chiefs put on one of the best shows I saw, and that might have had a large part to do with Jay-Z standing right in front of me. Anyways, the Deerhunter show was at the McCarren Park Pool, a Brooklyn summer hotspot for the last few years which sadly put on its last show this summer. When it returns, it will be a real live pool! But there will be no more dodgeball or free shows or hanging out in the park drinking margaritas from the Turkey’s Nest instead of paying to see the non free ones. Dang.

Lykke Li – I’m Good, I’m Gone: We’ve already talked some about how this was a great year for the women, especially in music. And politics. But I’m kind of talked out now, so you should all just dance. Right now. Because we worked hard this year, and it’s time to celebrate that.

Girl Talk – Play Your Part, Pt. 2: Just keep dancing. 2008 was more like 200hate instead of 200great, with some good moments thrown in. I’m just ready for 200fine now.

Happy New Year! My gift to you?

Eamon Sullivan's torso.

Eamon Sullivan's torso. I know you missed it.

I know you’ve missed it. I have, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

