Skip to content

Holdin’ down the fort.

January 19, 2009

While Kim is off INAUGURATION ROAD-TRIPPING, I’m here in Miami, totally not freezing and watching everything on MSNBC, of course. You know how I roll. Kim has been doing a great job of leaving me voicemails to post on the blog, and here are the first few of them:

That one features the DEATH CAB MUSIC that she posted about earlier.

These following four were sent while our INAUGURATION CORRESPONDENT was at the WE ARE ONE Inaugural Concert, which I recorded as I watched live, and just now realized that I ACCIDENTALLY DELETED, like a moron, but anyway:

I have no idea what this is:

And the best one I received so far, KIM DISCUSSES INAUGURATION MERCHANDISE:

I really DO want to smell like the essence of Obama! KIM, PICK ME UP SOME. I’LL PAY YOU BACK.

I’m ridiculously jealous that I’m not there, but at least I’m WARM. HAH. Anyway, in case you missed it, the We Are One concert was great. I didn’t get a chance to blog it, but my friend Jubilee! and I did provide some witty commentary over on GTI, in this thread.

Some highlights:

Stevie friggen Wonder and Usher JAM TOGETHER while Shakira kinda just stands there awkwardly. Can we talk about how she's not wearing pants?
Stevie friggen Wonder and Usher JAM TOGETHER while Shakira kinda just stands there awkwardly. Can we talk about how she’s not wearing pants?
Bettye Lavette (who?) and Bon Jovi are CUTE AS HELL.
Bettye Lavette (who?) and Bon Jovi are CUTE AS HELL.
John Legend is also cute as all get out.
John Legend is also cute as all get out.
Pete Seeger with his Grandson. OLD PEOPLE LOL.
Pete Seeger with his Grandson. OLD PEOPLE LOL. LOVE.

Sup, B. ALSO HELLO WILL.I.AM AND SAMMY J.
Sup, B. ALSO HELLO WILL.I.AM AND SAMMY J.
Kim is down there someplace....
Kim is down there someplace….
This says it all.
This says it all.

Some other highlights included:

  • Kal Penn’s hot voice
  • Dr. Martin L. King said, (13 hours ago)HI TOM HANKS.
    Jubilee! said, (13 hours ago)WAY TO GET RID OF THAT DOOFY HAIR FROM ANGELS AND DEMONS. GOOD WORK.
    Dr. Martin L. King said, (13 hours ago)I KNOW RIGHT i was expecting caveman tom. but no its DISTINGUISHED tom.
  • The poor dude at the very beginning who COMPLETELY messed up TWICE while singing the National Anthem. Oh I would have cried about 11 times. 11 THOUSAND times.
  • a
  • b
  • c
  • That was really obnoxious to embed into this post but WHATEVER.
  • The BEST and MOST IMPORTANT HIGHLIGHT, THOUGH?:
The tiny little asian girl on the right who was ZONKED OUT behind Obama for most of the concert. AHAHAHAH. She'll be embarrassed when she's older.

The tiny little asian girl on the right who was ZONKED OUT behind Obama for most of the concert. AHAHAHAH. She'll be embarrassed when she's older.

Overall, it was a great event, and I’m glad I caught it this afternoon on HBO. If you missed it, they’ll be showing it over and over and over again, I’m sure, but the next showing is Monday afternoon at 1pm EST, on HBO. YES.

I must admit, I got teary-eyed, watching on the eve of Dr. Martin Luther King Day, a holiday dedicated to a man whose very existence and impact ALWAYS makes me teary-eyed anyway, as our President-Elect stood upon the Lincoln memorial and delivered these powerful words:

What gives me hope is what I see when I look out across this mall. For in these monuments are chiseled those unlikely stories that affirm our unyielding faith — a faith that anything is possible in America. Rising before us stands a memorial to a man who led a small band of farmers and shopkeepers in revolution against the army of an Empire, all for the sake of an idea.

On the ground below is a tribute to a generation that withstood war and depression — men and women like my grandparents who toiled on bomber assembly lines and marched across Europe to free the world from tyranny’s grasp. Directly in front of us is a pool that still reflects the dream of a King, and the glory of a people who marched and bled so that their children might be judged by their character’s content. And behind me, watching over the union he saved, sits the man who in so many ways made this day possible.

And yet, as I stand here today, what gives me the greatest hope of all is not thestone and marble that surrounds us today, but what fills the spaces in between. It is you — Americans of every race and region and station who came here because you believe in what this country can be and because you want to help us get there.

In a little bit over 24 hours, Barack Obama will officially be President of the United States, and we all helped get him there, and I could not be more pleased and excited.

It’s ridiculously late (early?) now and I am TIRED, but I leave you with one last parting gift:

Garth Brooks is a creeper.

Garth Brooks is a creeper.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

