Skip to content

Crazy OlyVil Inauguration Coverage: LET’S JAM Edition

January 20, 2009

After the Invocation, where I left off last, Aretha Franklin was introduced and is singing My Country Tis of Thee. She’s got KIND OF a big church hat thing going on, and it’s totally adorable.

IT’S TIME, IT’S TIME. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens is administering the oath of office for Joe Biden. YESSSS. His eyes are so tiny. I love him love him. YESSSSS. WE HAVE A NEW VICE PRESIDENT. Cheney is in a wheel chair and Joe Biden is HARDCOOOOORE.

I’m sorry, I’m nonsensical and totally excited, so.. yeah.

Now is a performance of a John Williams arrangement, with Itzhak Perlman, Yo-Yo Ma, Gabriela Montero and Anthony McGill. The performers look genuinely excited to be there, it’s incredible. Aw, that was really lovely. But the end of it could not come sooner because HOLY BUTTS, IT’S TIME FOR OBAMA TO TAKE HIS OATH.

Chief Justice John G. Roberts Jr. is administering the oath. OH WOW. Uhoh he spoke too soon. That was cute. AHAHAHA OH NO HE’S SO NERVOUS. I LOVE IT SO MUCH.  OH MY GOD

OH MY GOD WE HAVE A NEW PRESIDENT OH MY GOD. I CANNOT CONTROL THE LEVEL OF CAPSLOCK IN HERE RIGHT NOW OH MY GOD. KLDJRNGLOEIHRITNJEHRFOGDCFLKDSAJKLF,MBRUITKG

Wowwww i just spazzed out a little bit there, didn’t I?

Obama has just started his speech, and excuse me while I die of happiness a little bit.

Today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin the work of remaking America.

YES SIR. I WILL FOLLOW YOU ANYWHERE.

sex!death!robots! said, (4 minutes ago)

He is speeching the FUCK outta America.

Naturelle Rivera said, (3 minutes ago)I will follow that man anywhere. ANYWHERE.

Naturelle Rivera said, (3 minutes ago)Post here with a place and I will tell you if I would follow Obama there.

Short answer: yes.

Skanko said, (1 minute ago)antarctica?

sex!death!robots! said, (0 minutes ago)HORSEHEAD NEBULA

Chekkit, some photos:

Hillary looks a little CRAZY EXCITED!

Hillary looks a little CRAZY EXCITED! Me too, gurl.

Malia and Sasha are adorable and colorfully dressed.

Malia and Sasha are adorable and colorfully dressed.

Michelle Obama is just lovely.

Michelle Obama is just lovely.

Love.

Love.

HE'S SUCH A ROCKSTAR, I LOVE IT.

HE'S SUCH A ROCKSTAR, I LOVE IT.

Yo-Yo Ma AND FRIENDS.

Yo-Yo Ma AND FRIENDS.

YES. YES WE CAN.

YES. YES WE CAN.

Rev. Joseph E. Lowery just gave the Benediction, and seriously, that was the best thing ever. First off, dude is like 140 years old, so he totally has OLD MAN voice, which I LOVE, and secondly, he was GREAT.

sex!death!robots! said, (0 minutes ago)

That guy was a motherfucking badass. I wish he would’ve slapped Rick Warren’s dick with the Lincoln Bible and done the prayer too. Would have been much easier to hear coming from him.

UM I didn’t understand anything except that awesome breakdown at the end. BROWN CAN GET AROUND YELLA CAN BE MELLOW…is that me talking up there?

Oh my God. Best day EVER. National Anthem time.

Okay, man. This shindig is basically over. I’ll probably be updating again later today as more photos and videos become available, and I can’t wait to hear Kim’s stories from the scene.

IT’S A GREAT DAY, GUYS. Make yourself some guacamole and CHILL OUT.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

