Skip to content

Mancow Gets Waterboarded

May 23, 2009

Last night on Countdown, OlyVil’s collective journalism boyfriend, Keith Olbermann, presented a story and clips from Chicago-based conservative radio show host, Erich “Mancow” Muller, who agreed to be waterboarded for his show. Muller had previously maintained that describing waterboarding as “torture” was wrong and was hoping to prove his point on the show. Here’s the clip from Countdown:

Six seconds is how long the radio host lasted, after which he completely changed his stance and said that waterboarding is “absolutely torture.”

Well, go figure. Who would’ve thought that when your face is smothered and then doused with water, it could be considered torture? I mean, I don’t know about everyone but I’d assume that humans would be able to breathe just fine under those conditions. If fish can do it, so can we.

….Right. I honestly don’t understand how people can maintain that waterboarding isn’t torture. Mancow’s stunt wasn’t even how it’s traditionally done and he only lasted six seconds. If your head is repeatedly doused with water, you’re not going to be able to breathe, okay. Preventing someone from breathing in an effort to gain their intelligence is torture. I mean, in regular non-POW circumstances, it would be considered attempted murder to try to drown someone.

After watching the Countdown clip, I wanted to see if there were any other good videos of this practice on YouTube, because although I’ve read quite a bit about it, I haven’t seen many videos of waterboarding. I found a great (and horrible) video from last July of writer Christopher Hitchens being waterboarded more traditionally for a story he was asked to write for Vanity Fair:

This clip in particular was terrifying, because he was literally not only being drowned, but smothered. It didn’t even seem like a lot of water was being poured over Hitchens, but I suppose it doesn’t really take a lot of water to sufficiently asphyxiate someone.

Even watching Hitchens talk about the experience afterwards, he looked absolutely petrified. Our government needs to come to their senses and admit their wrongdoings. We’re not going to be fooled by this.

And for the record, didn’t Sean Hannity offer himself up to be waterboarded a few weeks ago? I’d actually tune in to FOXNews to watch that nonsense live. Someone send me a memo when he actually keeps his word on that one.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. miscellany101 permalink
    May 23, 2009 11:02 pm

    I should make some rude comment about these two “journalists/entertainers”, like they should stop whining or they should get with the program. What I would rather see however is more of them undergo the experience until they are all on the same page.

    • May 23, 2009 11:07 pm

      If you’re including Christopher Hitchens in with the “two journalists/entertainers,” I think that’s a bit inaccurate. I might be wrong but I was under the impression that Hitchens never said anything about waterboarding not being torture, which is something that Mancow, among others, has said repeatedly.

      I think Hitchens just wanted to do it to get perspective for the story he was asked to write.

      But I do agree that I’d love to see more of the IT’S NOT TORTUREEE harpies go through it.

Leave a Reply

