Skip to content

Saturday Swimmin’! Day 7 of the World Championships

August 1, 2009

I am starting off this blog post with the time I have this weekend as I get dressed to go do some more festivalin’. Rowdy and Dan are speaking about new suits, age irrelevancy and Cavic vs. Phelps.

At this point, I’m starting to feel a little bad about Michael Phelps. He’s doing the classy thing by electing to say few words (though the few words he says are a little sassy) while Cavic is spelling out VAST MEDIA CONSPIRACY. Sports Illustrated is only showing you the photos that they want the public to see. Cavic, don’t you think if you won, there would be no pictures of your hand not yet touching the wall while Phelps’ hand was on the wall? I mean, really? Are you saying you touched the wall then pulled your hand back in that really quick moment and that’s the picture that is shown?

Michael Phelps says the talking was done in the pool while Ryan Lochte makes a weird guffaw or something.

While I was typing this there was a Women’s 50m Fly. Celisse is obviously the superior swimming blogger here. There is a very, very excited Australian, Marieke Guehrer, who came in first. She did not break a world record, though, which I think is starting to be more historic than breaking records. China’s Zhou Yafei is in second and Invild Snildal of Norway is in third. Go you!

We’re getting a 44 minute graphic indicating when the Phelps/Cavic race is. I won’t be here. Dang.

They keep talking about meatball marinaras with jalapenos from Subway. I’m curious as to what that tastes like. I usually get mine with pickles, black olives, lettuce, and SOMETIMES mayonnaise. So, yes, I can be who I want at Subway. Tease THAT sandwich, guys.

And now we’re talking about the 1960 Rome Olympics for no reason except to show old video of Muhammad Ali.

Men’s 50 M Free.

Lane 1. Nathan Adrian – Where you at, Cell?
Lane 2. CULLEN JONES!!! I’ve missed you! He apparently spent three days in the hospital before this.
Lane 3. Amaury Leveaux – France
Lane 4. Frederick Bousquet – France. He’s pretty. Don’t tell anyone.
Lane 5. Duje Dranganja – Croatia.
Lane 6. Cesar Cielo – Brazil. My new fave, since he screams and sobs and all of that.
Lane 7. Stefan Nystrand – Sweden
Lane 8. George Bovell – Trinidad & Tobago. Won a swim-off.

Cielo is the man to watch. I agree, if only because I want to watch his hysterics again. Though I’m pulling for my Cullen Jones and Nathan Adrian, it seems like the Frenchies vs Cielo are the guys to beat. And that’s exactly what happened in this fast race. Cielo wins and then collapses in a heap in the water. Bousquet and Leveaux are behind in 2nd and 3rd respectively. Jones and Adrian are 5th and 6th. I’ll give them both hugs.

And with that, I will hand it off to Celisse.

———

Wahahaha hi, innernet. Kim left me a message tellin’ me to finish up this post if I wanted, while she’s gone volunteering at All Points West. So, okay!

There were 6 finals today, two of which Kim already covered, the Women’s 50m Butterfly, and the Men’s 50m Freestyle. The remaining four finals are as follows:

  • Women’s 200m Backstroke
  • Men’s 100m Butterfly (Cavic and Phelps showdown! HECK YES!)
  • Women’s 800m Freestyle
  • Women’s 4x100m Medley Relay

I’m glad Kim already took care of the 50m’s before she left cos those things are annoying to blog. Anyway, I’m about to start watching my DVR, and if you didn’t catch NBC’s coverage from earlier this afternoon, you can find the video on Universal Sports right here.

First, pictures!

SWIMMING-WORLD/

According to commentary during the video from day 7, Cesar Cielo of Brazil and Frenchie Freddy Bousquet train together and are legitimately bff. So much so, in fact, that they help to undress each other after races, apparently. Yep.

Actually, it’s kinda cute. Dan Hicks and Rowdy Gaines were saying that they’re always really happy for each other when one of them wins, and they kept saying that Freddy is such an incredibly nice, humble dude, so I’ll forgive Kim for thinking he’s pretty even though I personally hate the French team. Mhm.

I MEAN, OKAY, I don’t HATE the French team as a whole, I just hate Alain Bernard! WHATEVER.

I love how much this dude freaks out. It's so hilarious and endearing, and frightening.

I love how much this dude freaks out. It's so hilarious and endearing, and frightening.

Freddy Bousquet, Cesar Cielo, and Amaury Leveaux.

Freddy Bousquet, Cesar Cielo, and Amaury Leveaux.

Apparently, last night Amaury Leveaux of France had a SWIMSUIT MALFUNCTION, ala Ricky Berens during semi-finals last Sunday. Luckily, the suit burst prior to the men filing out to the pool, so he didn’t have to swim with a bare booty.

Right now, the announcers are saying that during the Cavic/Phelps race later, Cavic will be wearing one of the new “hi-tech” suits, while Milky will be wearing his trusty old Speedo suit. Cavic, who’s been talking a whole lotta shit this week, better realize that even in the rare event he does manage to win this one, everyone is gonna say it’s cos of the suit. I’m not sayin’, Cabbage, I’m just sayin’!

Photos from after the Women’s 50m Butterfly:

Kim was right, Marieke Guehrer of Australia is SUPER excited to have just won.

Kim was right, Marieke Guehrer of Australia is SUPER excited to have just won.

And then she whispers with Sweden's Therese Alshammar about Bousquet and Cielo's bromance, I'll bet.

And then she whispers with Sweden's Therese Alshammar about Bousquet and Cielo's bromance, I'll bet.

Kind of adorable.

Kind of adorable.

China's Zhou Yafei, Marieke Guehrer, and Norway's Ingvild Snildal.

China's Zhou Yafei, Marieke Guehrer, and Norway's Ingvild Snildal.

Next up is the Ladies 200m Backstroke, but my video hasn’t gotten there yet. Whoops.

Can I just say something a little bit … awkwardly pervo? Does anyone else notice that in the new monochromatic Arena/Jaked suits, MANBULGE is slightly more… noticeable? Like, the way the speedo suits have the bits of black and grey kinda offsets it, I think. But boy, not those new suits.

You know... JUST as an example....

You know... JUST as an example....

Uh, yeah. I feel like a dirty old man. ANYWAY.

Women’s 200m Backstroke

Awww, Kirsty Coventry of Zimbabwe is in this race! I love her. She hasn’t done spectacularly at these championships and I believe this is her last chance to get a medal.

As they go through the lanes, they introduce France’s Alexianne Castel in lane one, who is in the most unflattering pose in the world as she prepares. Her arms are up above her head, with those massive swimmer shoulders protruding out, and then, to make it worse, she spits a huge amount of water out of her mouth and into the pool, I’m assuming. SO GROSS.

Sheesh.

Great Britain’s Gemma Spofforth is also in this race, and she won the gold in the 100m Back earlier this week, so I’m thinking she’s gonna put up a good fight for Coventry, who is apparently the favorite for this event.

American’s Elizabeth Beisel and Liz Pelton, only 16 and 15 years old respectively, are also swimming this race. I remember Pelton doing really well at Nationals, but we’ll see how she does here.

As of the first 100, Coventry has pulled ahead of everyone. Russia’s Anastasia Zueva is beginning to catch up with her and is currently well into 2nd place. Coventry is slowing down a bit but about half a body length into first place. Zueva inches ever closer, but Coventry touches first winning a gold medal AND the world record, followed by Zueva, and finally Elizabeth Beisel touches third.

YAY KIRSTY COVENTRY!

Anastasia Zueva, Kirsty Coventry, and Elizabeth Beisel

Anastasia Zueva, Kirsty Coventry, and Elizabeth Beisel

yaayayyayaayayayayyyy

yaayayyayaayayayayyyy

The NBC Poll is asking now who we think will win the Men’s 100m Fly, Milorad Cavic or Michael Phelps. COME ONNNN, POLL, don’t be so silly.

Okay, they went to an interview with Cavic and Andrea Kramer, where he’s saying more of what he already said — that he touched the wall first in that race last year, and he has seen photos proving it. Photos, photos, whatever, but baby, we saw VIDEO of it. Slow-motion video. Many, many, many times. And you did not touch that wall first, is all I’m saying.

Cabbage goes on to say that he could be in court right now contesting the results, but he’s not losing any sleep over it, and he’s come back to beat Phelps, and that’s what he’s going to do.

This is the point where I have to say, you know, I’ve never disliked Cabbage before. Last year, I thought he was a good enough guy who put up a good fight and created some amazing entertainment at the Olympics. But, dang. Right now, he’s just sounding like an arrogant little crybaby. If you think you really won the race, but “aren’t losing any sleep over it” and have come to beat Phelps in tonight’s race, then fine, do it and shut up, you know? You don’t have to talk so much shit. Prove your worth and be quiet.

And with that, it’s time for the…

Men’s 100m Butterfly

Oh yes oh yes oh yes oh yes for real oh yes for real seriously.

Milky comes out and he has his headphones on, and through them, from APW, Kim is telling him to rock this shit, I know she is. I knoooow she is.

Oh! Australia’s Andrew Lauterstein is also in this race. Maybe I haven’t been paying attention, but I’m pretty sure this is the only final I’ve seen him in thus far. Funny, since he decided to ditch Speedo and go with the new suits for these championships. Guess the new suits didn’t really work in his favor, yeah?

This race ain’t about Lauterstein, though. It’s about Milky and Cabbage. Right now they’re showing a very dramatic shot of Cavic and Phelps, each with their left foot on the block, facing each other.

dfgsdfgsd

If I were Milky, I'd shoot lazer beams right out my eyeballs at that fool, I really would.

Debbie Phelps looks like she’s about to keel over and puke on someone, I swear. Hold it together, lady, everything’s gonna be juuuust fine.

AGH AND THEYRE IN THE POOL. CAN I BLOG THIS ENTIRE THING IN CAPS? NO? Okay fine. At the turn, Cavic has the lead! UGH. Phelps is pulling ahead. AGH HES INCHING UP OH GOD. COME ON

YES YES YES YE SYE SYE SY ES YES YES YES YES YES YES PHELPS HITS THE WALL FIRST, LOCHTE SCREAMS FROM THE STANDS, DEBBIE FREAKS OUT. AARON LOOKS KINDA BORED, A FEROCIOUS BEAST EATS MILORAD CAVIC.

Just kidding.

Cry, wanger. Cryyyyyy.

Cry, wanger. Cryyyyyy.

Milky's like "Don't talk to me, fool-ass."

Milky's like "Don't talk to me, fool-ass."

They just showed slow-mo shots of Phelps pulling the front of his suit away from his body, displaying it to the world that an arena suit means nothing to him. Then they showed Debbie freaking out again, which was adorable. And then, they show Ryan Lochte litterally JUMPING UP AND DOWN IN THE STANDS LIKE A LITTLE GIRL WHO JUST GOT HER FIRST LOVE NOTE FROM A CUTE BOY. IT IS THE MOST HILARIOUSLY ADORABLE THING I HAVE EVER SEEN.

Suck on this speedo, bitchessss.

Suck on this speedo, bitchessss.

Italy Swimming World Championships

Zero idea what that guy in the red is doing to Debbie.

Zero idea what that guy in the red is doing to Debbie.

Oh right. So, Cabbage got SILVER (which is NOT GOLD, BTW), Phelps got gold, obviously, and Rafael Munoz of Spain got the bronze.

Oh right. So, Cabbage got SILVER (which is NOT GOLD, BTW), Phelps got gold, obviously, and Rafael Munoz of Spain got the bronze.

Oh my GODDDD yes I knew there was nothing to worry about, dude. I knew it I knew it I knew it.

Hey there’s more events right? I nearly forgot. Whoops!

Women’s 800m Freestyle

After a LONG round of semi-finals, it’s time for the 800m free. While I’m not overly familiar with the swimmers for this event, over the past week of wathching and blogging I’ve gotten to know a few of them, and this seems like a really strong field. There’s actually nine women in this race, weirdly enough. Here are the lanes:

  1. Kristel Kobrich, Chile
  2. Wendy Trott, South Africa
  3. Lotte Friis, Denmark
  4. Camelia Potec, Romania
  5. Rebecca Adlington, Great Britain
  6. Joanne Jackson, Great Britain
  7. Alessia Filippi, Italy
  8. Erika Villaecija, Spain
  9. Ophelie-Cyrielle Etienne, France

Rebecca Adlington is the favorite for this race, but I know that Filippi is a big competitor for her, as is Lotte Friis and Joanne Jackson. It’s a long race, so anything can happen, I think.

The winners of the 1500m free were Filippi, Friiis, and Potec, so we’ll see.

As of the 150m, I believe Potec is in first. Adlington is following closely behind, and then Joanne Jackson. And now they cut to commercial PSH. I fast forward and as of the 500m, Friis is in first, Adlington and Jackson in 2nd and 3rd, and the announcers just said that Filippi is about 5th, but aside from Friis, no one has a really huge lead. Filippi is in 4th, now, having just passed Camelia Potec, and now she’s moving ahead of Adlington and Jackson. Uhoh uhoh! Friis better watch out!

Holy crap! Filippi is moving way ahead and she’s catching up to Friis! 50 meters left and she’s so close to first! UHOH she’s losing steam! Jackson is pulling ahead! Friis hits the wall first, followed by Jackson who snuck up on everyone in that last 50m, and then Filippi who grabs the bronze. Wowwww.

That was a great race. Long, but great.

Awww, excited Lotte Friis

Awww, excited Lotte Friis

Joanne Jackson, Lotte Friis, and Alessia Filippi

Joanne Jackson, Lotte Friis, and Alessia Filippi

Women’s 4x100M Medley Relay

This is the last final of the evening, and apparently the US team didn’t even make it to the finals, which the announcers say is shocking. I’m not that shocked, but whatever. Here are the lanes:

  1. Australia
  2. Great Britain
  3. Germany
  4. China
  5. Japan
  6. The Netherlnds
  7. Canada
  8. Brazil

I guess Australia is the favorite for this event, but we’ll see. As of the 100m, Great Britain, China, and Japan are all pretty much neck and neck. China seems to be pulling ahead, followed by Australia, and I think Germany is third. The third leg starts and China is just about a body length ahead of Australia, and everyone else is way behind. Jessicah Schipper of Australia is picking up some speed, and the 4th leg starts with China still just barely in the lead. Going in to the last 50, Australia has picked up just a bit, but China is still in first. Uhoh the gap is closing, and China just touches the wall first, followed by Australia, and then Germany.

China broke the world record and are very excited. Awww.

China celebrating their win.

China celebrating their win.

Yay China!

Yay China!

Yay Germany!

Yay Germany!

Yay Australia!

Yay Australia!

Alright, guys. There are gonna be 7 finals tomorrow night, and NBC will be showing them again from 12noon to 2pm EST, so definitely check it out. Thanks for reading!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2009 12:23 am

    i would do bad things to bousquet

    • August 2, 2009 2:48 pm

      you are a dirty old manz. actually he’s pretty old.. he’s 28! i thought he was younger..

      • Kim permalink
        August 2, 2009 3:02 pm

        I KNOW! That’s why I was telling you yesterday that French swimmers are old!

Leave a Reply

