Skip to content

Fall TV Mini-Review: Modern Family & Cougar Town

September 24, 2009

So, I don’t normally watch network TV sitcoms. That’s really not my thing. When I do, it is, like, the hilariously bad 2 and a ½ Men, which is deplorable, I know, but whatever.

I do, however, enjoy watching ABC Soaps. Don’t ask me how that happened, because I don’t know. I blame the many months I spent unemployed with nothin’ to do and nowhere to go. Anyway, since I watch two hours of ABC 5 times a week, I’ve been catching the promos for Modern Family and Cougar Town for weeks, and wasn’t really interested, cos, like I said, network TV sitcoms really aren’t my thing.

The stars aligned tonight, though, to get me to sit in front of my TV for ABC Comedy Wednesday, and I decided to bring you some of my thoughts on what I watched tonight.

Modern Family

Modern Family is a little mockumentary which stars a bunch of people that I only know through other roles. Notably: Al Bundy (Ed O’Neill), The Angel From Raking Leaves (Julie Bowen), and The Smile Guy from In Good Company (Ty Burrell).

The show follows three different families, who are all related through Al Bundy up there. His character, Jay, is newly married to the much younger, much hotter Gloria. Jay’s gay son, Mitchell, is married to the hilarious Cameron, and they’ve just adopted an adorable asian baby. GAYS AND ASIAN BABIES. WHAT MORE COULD I ASK FOR? Jay’s daughter, Claire, is married to Phil, and together they have three children — Haley, who is a typical teenage girl, perpetually embarrassed by her “cool” parents; Alex, the middle child who likes getting her sibs in trouble; and Luke, who hilariously has to endure the punishment of being shot with a BB gun by his father.

I wasn’t expecting this show to be as funny as it was. Eric Stonestreet and Jesse Tyler Ferguson as Mitchell and Cameron were hilariously awkward about bein’ the gays with the asian baby. Ty Burrell was so funny as the cool dad who just… isn’t. I was less interested in Jay and Gloria’s interactions.

Basically, it was a cute pilot. I’m looking forward to seeing more. I definitely had a couple LOL moments while watching, which never happens, so it was a pleasant surprise.

Cougar Town

Cougar Town, starring Courteney Cox as a 40-something single-mom (Jules) who is fed up with men her age dating women half her age, was as predictably meh as it was expected to be.

I mean, re-read the premise there for a second. Does that sound like something that would be funny? No? Good, cos it wasn’t. The only shining beacon of hope for this show is Dan Byrd, who stars as Jules’ teenaged son, and whom I have loved seemingly FOREVER. I mean, since he was on friggen like Any Day Now on effing Lifetime a zillion years ago. Love that guy!

Carolyn Hennesy guest stars as one of Jules’ coworkers, and I was just excited cos she plays Diane Miller on General Hospital and I LOVE HER. That was an embarrasing confession. Whatever, don’t you judge me.

In any case, there were a few funny moments of Cougar Town, and I’m willing to give it another chance, but tonight’s premiere was predictable and mediocre. Alas!

So, that’s that. After Cougar Town, ABC premiered Eastwick, and that was totally my cue to turn on the Golden Girls, because that crap is just too corny for me. Give me Practical Magic any day, jerks!

Did you catch these shows tonight? What else are you watching this season? Tell me what you think in the comments!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

