Skip to content

The Missing SNL Blog – Gerard Butler & Shakira

October 18, 2009

Here’s the deal, bloggie buddies. I have satellite cable, and due to a pretty big storm last night, I am pretty much unable to liveblog the show. Normally the full episodes have been up on Hulu, but that hasn’t happened this week yet. So I’ll get through what I can, but then we’ll call the rest of it a bye week.

Cold Open: The third cold open in the last three weeks with Fred Armisen half-assing an Obama impression while staring at cue cards. After watching Armisen on Parks and Recreation this week, I remembered how funny he can be. So, what happened? Is he just giving up? Is he as tired of the crummy writing as I am this season? Obama is going to turn into The-ROCK Obama again, isn’t he? Yep. Which is fantastic, because sadly, the Rock does a better impression of Obama than Armisen does. My satellite is cutting out again, so I am not really getting much besides Hader barking and I think someone might have gotten thrown out of a window.

Okay, my sattelitte has jumped me ahead by like a half hour. Are Rob Schneider, Kevin Nealon and Harvey Keitel really on the show laughing hysterically? I am very confused. Can anyone who actually saw this explain what happened?

Shakira – She Wolf: Shakira has someone playing keytar. She’s also singing along to a backing track and belly dancing. There’s not much more to say about this.

Okay, there’s an “SNL Backstage” thing showing a clip from dress rehearsal where Bill Hader cracks up, so I’m assuming that this is what the Kevin Nealon/Rob Schneider thing was, no? I love it when Bill Hader laughs. Especially because he looks like he’s dying. And I’m proud of Andy and Shia LaBeouf for holding it in there.

Weekend Update: Olympia Snowe and Seth Meyers have the same nose.

Two gay guys from New Jersey who are in the military! Recurring Update characters that never get old to me.

The balloon from Colorado can talk. He’s crying to Seth. And that was a weird little bit. Fair enough.

Gerard Butler! Scottish. I saw an interview with him the other day which said that everyone in America pronounces his name wrong. Seth is translating everything for Gerard and I really enjoy Scotland. What a glorious country. Can I move their and watch SNL on satellite like the Butler family?

As much as Kristen can be over the top sometimes, I think this appearance on WU kind of proves how awesome she is. And I have officially laughed outloud at “Thank you for coming.” So much so that I will now link to the clip on Hulu.

I like these backstage clips. Because it kind of shows how awesome dress rehearsal can be. And why I always choose going to dress rehearsal instead of the live show.

The Spartans – Because no Gerard Butler SNL would be complete without a 300 reference. This is another gays in the military thing. Just wrapped up in the Spartan covering. Everyone in the army is gay, because don’t ask don’t tell was repealed. This is the first real sketch that I was able to see with my satellite problems and clunker city.

More dress rehearsal clips. This one with Will Ferrell, Sean Hayes and Jimmy Fallon laughing it up.

What Up With That?: James Franco! WTF. So hot. And unexpected. I need more James Franco and less unfunny singing. MOVE ON. Is it just me or is James Franco starting to look a little like Joseph Gordon-Levitt? Also, this whole sketch is going to be about Kenan singing and Jason Sudeikis doing the Rerun dance isn’t it?

franco

I think that if Jason Sudeikis (and Will Forte later) weren’t going all out with the dancing, this wouldn’t have been even remotely funny. It’s a shame we don’t even get a chance to see James Franco dancing at the end because of the graphic. I saw him throw his arms up, so I’m sure it was amusing. Hader’s dance was.

Hey SNL, ever hear of humour?

New Secretary: We’ve reached the cottage cheese jokes part of the night. And it’s another Kristen Wiig recurring character that I could do with never seeing again. Gerard Butler kind of looks like a chipmunk right now. I’m confused. Also, why make Gerard Butler American? He clearly has issues with maintaining the accent, so why bother? Just let the man be Scottish. And oh, HA HA, HE DIDN’T KNOW WHAT A PEN CAP WAS. HA HA HA SNL YOU SO FUNNY.

Shakira – “Did it Again”: I want to be a back-up drummer/dancer for Shakira. Is she still engaged to a prince or something? Wikipedia time! Okay, not a prince, the son of the old President of Argentina. And they’ve been engaged for 8 years. Also of note: Shakira is intensely interested in world history. She frequently studies the history and languages of the countries she visits. After her Oral Fixation tour ended in summer 2007, Shakira audited a class in Los Angeles at UCLA, on the History of Western Civilization. She used her middle and last names, Isabel Mebarak, and told the professor she was visiting from Colombia so as to avoid being recognized as a celebrity.

I love her.

Daveheart: Second sketch with Butler in charge of an army. At the very least, this one if pretty funny. I like it. “I can’t piss myself more than I already have.” What can of accent is Jenny Slate going for here? Apparently it’s French. But it’s awful.

Goodnights: Hello, kilt picture. James Franco really had a lot to do tonight. But he gets to stand there and smile next to Shakira and Gerry. Despite the hotness and Butler’s enthusiasm and v-neck sweater, this was not good.

So we’re going into reruns next week, thankfully, because the writers aren’t even trying anymore, and I can’t believe that anybody finds this to be 1) funny and 2) worthy of being shown to anyone. I’ve never been happier that my satellite decided not to work so that I can ignore this. Because even the hour that I was able to watch made me want to pull my hair out. I am not even seeing the possibility of a turnaround. Sigh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. heather permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:01 am

    its too bad really that this episode kinda sucked… cuz i love gerry but the jokes wernt very good.. james franco (who i also love) didnt get to even freaking talk!! rawr !! … so yeah i was pretty dissapointed 😦 i did like the begining when the obama turned into the rock ^^

  2. amanda permalink
    October 21, 2009 2:01 pm

    Wow, I’m sad I didn’t watch this one… just cuz of James Franco.

  3. August 16, 2010 7:13 am

    Shakira is just beautiful

  4. Rebecca Manning permalink
    July 18, 2011 6:21 pm

    OMG! I think he is starting to look like Joseph gordon levitt as well! :O

Leave a Reply

