Skip to content

Olympic Hottie of the Day!

August 2, 2012

If you’re American and have never really paid attention to the Olympics before, this post will make no sense. Largely because I guess today’s hottie drowned the families of every NBC executive ever.

Eamon Sullivan, of the Eamon Sullivan’s torso, has received about 5 seconds of total airtime over the past week, despite swimming in the Australian relay and competing in the 50m free and being a pretty huge Australian swimmer over the past eight years or so.

He dated Stephanie Rice! They were a dream team of hot Australians!

He’s had hilarious controversy!

Eamon Sullivan has gone on a self-imposed booze ban following a drunken night in Kings Cross that ended in a police investigation for taxi fare evasion.

The world’s fastest 50m freestyler yesterday apologised to police and the taxi driver for the “silly misunderstanding”, saying it was a wake-up call for swimmers with increasing public profiles that they needed to be more careful.

“I think the main thing for me to do is apologise and admit that I did something wrong,” Sullivan told The Daily Telegraph.

“I’m obviously disappointed in myself. What has happened was out of character. I’m deeply sorry and very embarrassed.” (via)

He’s beautiful!

And golly gee, that torso. That magical torso. If I were Aaron Sorkin, I would say something like it was crafted “by a technician close to God.”

The greatest moment in torsos: Eamon Sullivan, Ryan Lochte, Michael Phelps and Grant Hackett (via).

You wouldn’t really know it, considering he swam in the same heats and semi as fellow hottie Cullen Jones, but Sullivan BARELY eked into the 50m final tomorrow night. Maybe we’ll finally get one TV shot of his torso, at the very least someone might say his name.

Motivated by the fact it could have been his last Olympic swim, Sullivan was delighted to have reached a final in his third Olympics after an at-times bumpy road to London due to injuries.

“I really didn’t want to finish swimming tonight, that’s the one thing I was thinking in those last 15 metres,” Sullivan said.

“I don’t know if this is my last Olympics or not but I didn’t want to go sit in the stands tomorrow night … I wanted to be there.”

Sullivan backed Magnussen to become a better competitor as a result of his London experience and said he had offered the 21-year-old his advice earlier on Thursday.

Sullivan said Magnussen’s situation brought back memories of the 2008 Beijing Games, where was gold medal favourite and finished second.

“I had a chat to him this morning and said, having gone through it myself, you’re always going to think if someone invents a time machine, I’m going to go back and change what happened,” Sullivan said.

“But at the end of the day, what’s done is done, you have to learn from your mistakes.

“For me now looking back four years ago, I neglected to remember how much fun we actually have at these meets and I let the disappointment get the better of me and affect the rest of my meet.

“… By the time you’re 70 and crippled in a wheelchair and reminiscing on your swimming days, they’re the best of your life and you’ve got to enjoy every moment.

“Hopefully he can take a bit of advice from me and enjoy what he’s doing here.” (via)

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mikayla permalink
    September 7, 2012 12:04 am

    I know I’m a month late on stumbling upon this, but…Thank you! Thank you for giving swimmings most adorable athlete some attention! I have been a HUGE fan of Eamon’s for over 4 years now & from everything I’ve seen, he is gorgeous both inside & out! His mistakes have been rectified. His battles have been epic, his strength is amazing, and yet his humility is ever present in his day to day life. Seems like a stand up guy to me, oh yeah, did I mention..HE’S GORGEOUS?! 😉

Leave a Reply

